April 19th, 2016

It’s almost midnight here in NYC.  I’m sitting at my desk with a cup of tea applying to more and more internships while trying to finish 1 of the 7 shows I’m currently watching on Netflix. Earlier today I made a list of things I need to work on until the semester and boy do I have my hands full for the next 3+ weeks.

For starters, this Saturday is my traditional Korean drumming club’s annual performance in Washington Square Park. It’s going to be one exciting weekend, performing with these guys for my 3rd year and then celebrating with some well-deserved food afterwards. All month everyone’s been attending 10+ hours of rehearsals: reviewing songs, practicing choreography and cleaning up all the small details . It’s been tough juggling practices with school and applications, but now the group sounds amazing. I’m still amazed at how much we accomplished this year, especially after receiving 20+ new members. I can say with confidence that this weekend will be great, with the performance and with Game of Thrones season 6! Grow strong House Tyrell!

In other news, I’ve started developing my final project for my digital art class. It’s quite ambitious, a 7-10 minute narrative that combines live action and 2D animation. I can’t call myself a pro just yet, as the most I’ve ever done with 2D was create a 100 frame GIF. According to my professor, each second would require about 30 frames. Doing the math that would be about 12600 frames to make 7 minutes exactly…dear god. I don’t plan on the entire video being animated, but the majority of it will be so that’s still probably going to be around 10000 frames. I’ve been watching Adobe Flash (Animate?) videos all day since that could make this project easier to handle. At least I have the script and character designs finalized. If all else fails I do have other ideas, but if I can’t submit this video for class then it is something I’d like to work on over the summer. I think it’d be a nice addition to my portfolio.

Well, better keep  on working. So much to do the next few weeks. I’ll try to make blog posts a weekly thing, unless something so amazing/horrible/weird happens that I just have to write about it. It’s definitely possible in this city.

Leave a Reply

